Mix-up forces Canberra Cup redraw
An embarrassing mix-up has resulted in a redraw for Sunday’s Listed Canberra Cup.
Ryan said he alerted officials to the problem after seeing the barrier draw published on a racing website.
"I was working on the computer and had a look at Racenet and they had the Canberra Cup draw and when I had a look I noticed she wasn’t in the field," Ryan said.
"I rang the stewards and produced my receipt of acceptance from the Trainers Service Centre and they had to redraw."
Acting under rule LR 34(4)(b), stewards included Ready to Lift in the Canberra Cup field and a barrier position of 16 was drawn.
Under the same rule, horses that drew wider than 16 at the original draw all moved out one barrier.
Step Forward, who was originally listed in the field under saddlecloth 16, is now the first emergency.
Racing NSW put out a statement saying that stewards will continue their investigation as to why Ready To Lift was not included in the original field after acceptances were provided by Racing Information Services (RISA).
No blame for the error is being attributed to the Canberra Racing Club.
By Russell Jackson