Twelve in for Futurity

Seven late nominations were received on Tuesday for the Futurity Stakes at Caulfield, taking the number of entries for the Group One weight-for-age feature to 12.

Carlyon Cup winner Time Matters, Down Under Boy, Blutigeroo, Rubijon, Annenkov, Scenic Shot and restricted galloper Keikogi were thrown in as late entries for the first leg of the 2009 Asian Mile Challenge on Saturday.
Nominations were extended until 10am (AEDT) on Tuesday after only five entries were received on Monday.
They were Australian Horse of the Year Weekend Hussler, 2007 Cox Plate winner El Segundo, last year’s Futurity winner Niconero and the Mick Price-trained pair Alamosa and Light Fantastic.
Caulfield trainer Colin Little has three of the nominations – El Segundo, Blutigeroo and Rubijon.
Blutigeroo, who won the 2007 Hobart Cup (2200m) and The BMW (2400m) as well as the 2008 Canberra Cup (2000m), was a fast-finishing sixth to the Darren Weir-trained Time Matters in the Group Three Carlyon Cup (1400m) at Caulfield last Saturday.
Final acceptances for the Futurity Stakes will be taken at 9am (AEDT) today.