Team Caviar dominate Vic Racing awards

 Team Caviar dominate Vic Racing awardsThe world’s fastest racehorse, the man who trains her and the jockey who rides her have been named Victoria’s leading performers for the 2011-2012 racing season.

As well as being named the state’s Racehorse of the Year, Black Caviar officially provided the season’s most memorable moment with victory, the 19th of her unbeaten career, in the Lightning Stakes at Flemington in February

For the second year on end the champion mare’s trainer Peter Moody won the Fred Hoysted Award, given to Victoria’s most outstanding trainer, and Luke Nolen took out his second Scobie Breasley Award as the most outstanding jockey.

Along with “Team Caviar”, the awards commemorated the achievements of a man who rode only 33 winners from his 85 rides for the year, but who is clearly one of the all-time-greats in his field.

Steve Pateman’s Tommy Corrigan medal, awarded to the most outstanding jumps jockey, is his fifth in six years.

While the awards are not necessarily given to the most successful participants, in Moody’s case the weight of numbers is impossible to ignore.

The former Queenslander trained more winners than anyone in Australia, leading in 209 for the year.

But his handling of Black Caviar, who scored nine of her 22 wins in the past season including the Diamond Jubilee Stakes at Royal Ascot, assured him of more than numerical superiority.

Nolen is in a similar situation having been champion jockey in Melbourne for the past four seasons.

Like Moody, though, his association with Black Caviar has made him a national sporting figure.

Moody received 60 points to beat France’s Melbourne Cup-winning trainer Mikel Delzangles (44) and Robert Smerdon (39).

Nolen scored 66 votes in the jockeys’ award, 15 ahead of Dwayne Dunn.

Pateman’s 53 votes made the Tommy Corrigan medal a one-act affair, his nearest rival Gavin Bedggood (Bedggood) earning a mere 12.

Black Caviar dominated the Racehorse of the Year voting in similar style, earning 156 votes, 100 more than runner-up Atlantic Jewel.