Some facts about the Metropolitan

Some facts about the Group One Metropolitan Handicap (2400m) at Randwick on Saturday.

* First held at Randwick in 1866 as the "Great Metropolitan Stakes" over two miles (3200m) when won by Bylong.
* Among the early winners was the Ettienne de Mestre-trained Tim Whiffler (1867) who would be the first horse to claim the Metropolitan-Melbourne Cup double in the the same year.
* Other early stars of the turf to have a Metropolitan victory among their wins include Goldsbrough (1875), Abercom (1889), Marvel Loch (1903) and Mooltan who became the first stayer to record back-to-back wins (1907-1908).
* In more recent times the race’s winners have included the 1951 champion Delta who would become the first horse since Tim Whiffler to claim the Metropolitan-Melbourne Cup double in the same year.
* The Metropolitan would become an outstanding guide to the Melbourne Cup through the 1950s with Dalray (1952), Straight Draw (1957) and Macdougal (1959) all going on to win Australia’s most famous race.
* Only four horses have won the Metropolitan more than once: Mooltan (1907-1908), Murray Stream (1945, 1947), Tails (1969-1970) and Hayai (1983-84).
* The late TJ Smith is the most successful trainer having won it seven times with Redcraze (1956), Wiedersehen (1968), Oncidon (1971), Analie (1973), Passetreul (1974), Bon Teint (1975) and Sir Serene in 1977.
* TJ’s daughter Gai Waterhouse has won it six times but is not represented this year.
* Trainers who have won the race in the past with runners this year: Paul Perry – Newport (Newport 2008).
* Jockeys who have won the race with a ride on Saturday: Darren Beadman – Fiumicino (Railings 2005); Peter Wells – Newport (Newport 2008); Corey Brown – Speed Gifted (County Tyrone 2004); Chris Munce – The Embassy (Hula Flight 1996, Coco Cobanna 2000).